Office in Nice

+33 4 93 80 79 85

Tennis Tournament Monte-Carlo Rolex Masters 2017

15:18 / 02.03.2017

From 15 to 23 April 2017.

The Monte-Carlo Masters is an annual tennis tournament for male professional players held in Roquebrune-Cap-Martin, France, a commune that borders on Monaco. The event is part of the ATP World Tour Masters 1000 on the Association of Tennis Professionals (ATP) Tour. The tournament is played on clay courts and is held every year in the April–May period.

The Monte Carlo tennis championship was first held in 1897. It became an "Open" event in 1969. From 1970 through 1972 and from 1978 through 1989 it was a major tournament of the Grand Prix Tour as part of the Grand Prix Super Series top tier events. In 1973 the tournament was part of the Rothmans Spring Mediterranean Circuit. From 1974 through 1977 the tournament was part of the World Championship Tennis (WCT) circuit. In 1990 it became an ATP Championship Series Single Week tennis event.

Beginning in 2009, Monte Carlo became the only ATP World Tour Masters 1000 tournament not to have a mandatory player commitment. Most of the top players still elect to play the event despite this status. Rafael Nadal won the title eight consecutive times between 2005 and 2012, making him the only player to win eight consecutive titles at the same tournament. In 2016, contesting his 10th final against Gael Monflis, he won the title for a record 9th time.


Contact us